Reflective essay – Salut!

“Fruitful” is the word to describe what I have learned from this SLS 302. It was such a joy to learn and the learning was with me. I am going to share how I’ve come this far by relating some theories.

My motivation was high and I was ready to learn SLA as much as possible as I had a specific goal in mind, to be a language teacher and was curious about how we learn a new language as I myself am a L2 learner. According to Krashen’s affective filter, my filter was relatively low. Weekly topics such as foreign language acquisition, bilingualism, social aspect of SLA, and instructed SLA were a full of new information, theories, latest research findings, and trend. All of the readings helped my understanding of the subject in terms of language teachers’ point of view, how they approach the language and how they teach learners. When I teach my 5th graders, for example, I speak clearly with simple words, recalling the topic of children’s language learning and development. I try to create a playful and friendly class environment because I have learned that humor is effective to lower learners’ affective filter for learning. I become conscious of how to give corrective feedback.

Weekly online reading reflections were such a great task to do which helped enhance my learning. It was time-consuming to read the article, understand it, think about it, what I want to say, and how I write it logically and critically. I thought about this whole process constantly, hardly left my mind. Writing every week was a challenge as SLS 302 was a writing intensive course. McLaughlin’s (1987) Model is right. Practicing writing was a laborious work in the beginning but it became somewhat automatic. I reread my posts and am happy to see the improvement in them. I noticed that the whole process, reading, formulating ideas, and writing, took less time and became a little easier by week 15. My awareness of my posts being read by my classmates made me write better. I became more curious about other languages by the multilingual class phrasebook, the language of sound system, a polyglot’s daily linguistic workout, and examples of personal language learning. My passion for traveling and foreign cultures was stimulated by the videos such as Mary Hobson, Dashan, and Benny Lewis. I tried to think about language in more different and deeper perspective such as why we had language and what it was by watching You Tubes and videos of Genie, and Clive Wearing. Helen Keller and whiteboard class photos also got me thinking of the power of language. These materials connected closely with what I learned and expanded my comprehension even more.

As for socio-cultural perspective, there were so many interactions; discussion questions followed by each group presentation in class, and making comments for our weekly reflections online. Reading others’ reflections helped me understand the topic better because I was able to see it from different point of views and comments were supportive. I think that group presentations served as spacing effect, keeping me from forgetting. The class environment was student-centered for optimal learning. It helped me motivate and take my learning proactively. Sharing our own ideas and thoughts were the precursor of lowered affective filter, more sharing and input, and more learning. This experience reminded me again that active learning generated positive results. All of these helped me formulate how I wanted to teach the children and tried to incorporate some of the essence to my class. I encourage my students to help each other whenever one of them can not come up with answer or word rather than I give them an answer. I also ask them to share what they know about something in class so that others may speak up easily and they might feel motivated.

I saw how each of us grew as a member of the SLS 302 community during these past 17 weeks. We were all in the the process of the Legitimate Peripheral Participation (LPP). Mr. Wilding, our instructor, the core of the community invited us, helped us get involved as a member of the community, and asked us to take an active and initiative role for our own learning. He created the optimal learning environment for us according to Dornyei’s components of motivational teaching practice in the L2 classroom. Little chat and cracking jokes followed by laughs on the side of the main instruction created a pleasant and positive class atmosphere. In week one, I was uncertain how the class would be carried out and how my learning would be taking place but now I know that I have become the part of the community. My body of knowledge of language increased so did my own voice; my view of future being a language teacher has changed because I know that language is not only about language but shapes me as a person as well. I believe that this course was the beginning of my 7- 8 years of process for newer and better me. Connecting of the neurons in my brain is in progress.
Thank you all!

Leave a comment